The Sun

Accomplishing something when in a rut

I am reading the book "The Power of Concentration" by Theron Q. Dumont. The author shares one neat trick to improve and train our will-power. In his own words:

"No matter whether your task is big or small, make it a rule to accomplish it in order to fortify your will. Form the habit of focusing your will in all its strength upon the subject to be achieved. You form in this way the habit of getting a thing done, of carrying out some plan. You acquire the feeling of being able to accomplish that which lies before you, no matter what it is. You do not tackle new tasks in a half-hearted way, but with a bold, brave spirit."

This resonated so much with me. Whenever I open my laptop, I plan to focus for 10 minutes but still get distracted by a myriad of things. This is something I'm starting to implement straight away. I thought of writing a blog about this topic and here I did it.

One thing at a time and I will complete that one thing. This is how I'll get out of my rut.


Reply via email