The Sun

Returning to the 'Gram: My journey back to Instagram after 2 years

It was April 2021 when I decided that I want to leave Instagram and I left it. For the past 2 years I was not on social media! You can read my complete experience in this one year anniversary blog which I published here last year.

My journey:

Well, yes it was very difficult for my 18 year old self to leave instagram. It was hard. Very hard. After around 6 months, I got used to it and that's when I started to see the benefits of not using social media.

But, then comes the things I realized after spending so much time without the 'gram.

My learnings:

One of the most glaring lessons I learnt was that it wasn't Instagram's fault that I was so addicted to it. I mean yeah I know that they put in a lot of research to make their app addictive. But life is made that way. Apart from Instagram, there are still many things that one can get addicted to. For example, even after 2 years I can't particularly say that I am more productive than my past self. Like, I am not a robot! I need my dose of entertainment too, everyone needs it. The point I want to make here is that there will be many distractions in life. The key is to be aware of it in such a way that it can never devour your attention more than required.

Now I am back to using social media. Back to connect again with all my college friends online! This time Instagram and Snapchat just act like tools which I use when required.

This was one of the most profound and unexpected learning that came to me. This is the sole reason I try weird things like these. I mean there is nothing but progress while doing these types of activities.

To conclude, I will still recommend everyone to try to quit Instagram for atleast 30 days. It is enough for experiencing the positive effects. Do let me know if you are trying to get rid of social media here!. I would love to see your progress and help you if you need anything.

Thanks for reading and have a good one!