The Sun

Walking

Walking can be such a powerful tool. Whenever my day doesn't feel right or I feel dull, I go for a walk. I know it seems counter-intuitive because when we aren't feeling good, we become lazy. But, I have found that going for a walk even for 5-10 minutes has had a profound effect on me. I instantly feel energized, I feel that I have accomplished something.

There is no particular thing I do while walking. Some days, I listen to music or sometimes I call some of my friends and relatives. When I feel good, I go for a run too. It just doesn't matter as long as I leave my house for 5-10 minutes.

I have found that calling my friends and distant relatives while on a walk gives me a lot of joy. I am not a person that usually calls people. But I discovered that just one selfless call to someone can make their day. Few days back, I called my friend and the last time we had an interaction was 2 years ago. He got so happy! He told that he was sitting on his couch and stood up as soon as he saw my name on his phone. That felt really good. We get so involved in our lives that we think that's it's irrelevant to call someone without any reason.

Recently, I have been going for walk with my friend. We both decided to go out everyday. That's even better, because now I am accountable to my friend for my daily walk.

These are some of the reasons I feel that a simple activity as taking a walk is so powerful and uplifting.